A Deferred Disposition is a form of probation which allows for dismissal of a citation if certain requirements are met. If the Judge grants a Deferred Disposition on your case, you are placed on probation (90 to 180 days) and a fee amount is assessed. Upon successful completion of the Deferment, the case is dismissed and there is no final conviction reported to the Texas Department of Public Safety.
- You are NOT eligible for a Deferred Disposition if:
- You were charged with Speeding 25 miles or more over the posted limit;
- You are charged with a violation in a construction or maintenance work zone when workers are present;
- You hold a Commercial Driver's License (CDL) or held a CDL at the time you were cited
How To Request A Deferred Disposition
Appear in person at the Municipal Court Office or submit a Sworn Request for Deferred Disposition by mail on or before the appearance date listed on your citation. Requests for Deferred Disposition will not be accepted by fax. You must submit a copy of your driver's license at the time of the request.
Defendants Younger Than 25 Years Of Age
If you are younger than 25 years of age and the offense committed is a traffic offense classified as a moving violation; you will be required to complete a Driving Safety Course approved under Chapter 1001 (Texas Education Code) and provide proof of completion to the Court.
If you hold a provisional license, during the deferral period, the Judge will require that you be examined by the Texas Department of Public Safety as required by Section 521.161(b)(2), TX. You are not exempt from the examination regardless of whether you were examined previously.
Failure To Comply With The Deferment Order
If you fail to meet the terms of the Deferred Disposition, you must appear in open court before the Judge an/or; a final judgment of guilt may be entered by the Judge. A conviction may be reported to the State as required. Pleaes note that a conviction of an offense under a traffic law of this State or a political subdivision of this State may result in the assessment on your driver's license of a surcharge under the Driver Responsibility Program (Transportation Code 708.105). Also, additional fees and conditions may be assessed.